Skip to content ↓
The Hayesbrook School


The Hayesbrook School Governance

The Academy Council is the foundation stone of the system of governance operating across Brook Learning Trust and has replaced the Local Governing Body. All three academies in the Trust have Academy Councils and councillors’ advocacy and monitoring roles are replicated across each.

For more information about how the new system of governance operates, please follow this link to the Brook Learning Trust website.

The Academy Council

Roles & Responsibilities


Chair of Academy Council

Andrew Childs

Vice Chair of Academy Council

Kieran McDaid

Health & Safety Link Councillor

David Athey

Safeguarding Link Councillor

Vicky Widdicombe

Pupil Premium / SEND Link Councillor

David Athey

Student Advocate Councillor

Frances Concannon

Staff Advocate Councillor

Chris Waight

Parent Advocate Councillor

Linda Garratt

Community Liaison Councillor


Standards Panel

Andrew Childs

Audit & Risk Committee

Kieran McDaid

Finance Committee

Andrew Childs

Associate Councillor

Chris McNamara

Principal: Mr Daniel Hatley
Clerk to the Governors: Dr Alison Bird

You will note that there a number of councillor roles listed above and each has its own unique remit. Councillors share an overview of their roles and details of how they will be working alongside academy staff and the Trust to support our school.

If you are interested in joining the Academy Council we would like to hear from you.  Please contact the Clerk, Alie Bird, at or 01580 712754 ext 277.